Denis Matvienko
Art director of THE GREAT GATSBY project World-renowned ballet star, holder of four Grand Prix at the international ballet contests
I have a feeling today we are doing something really great

Natalia Makarova about Denis Matvienko: “This is Baryshnikov, Nureev and Godunov in one person. The ballet hasn’t seen such a phenomenon for a long time.”

Denis Matvienko was born in Dnepropetrovsk (Ukraine). A third generation dancer, at 10, Denis entered Kiev State College of Choreography where he was studying until 1997.

At 17, being still a student at the Choreography College, Matvienko debuted on the stage of the National Opera of Ukraine playing prince Désiré in “Sleeping Beauty” ballet. In 1997 Denis won his first Grand Prix at the Fourth Intentional Ballet Contest in Luxemburg that kick-started his rapid and incredibly successful career.

In less than a year, Matvienko received another Grand Prix at the Third Rudolf Nureyev International Ballet Competition in Budapest. The next year, a gold medal and Vaslav Nijinsky Prize at the Third International Competition of Classic and Contemporary Choreography in Nagoya (Japan).

In 2001, Matvienko received an invitation from the Mariinskiy Theatre (St Petersburg, Russia). As the leading soloist for one theatrical season he played the main roles in Don Quixote and Jewels, as well as premièred in Cinderella by Aleksei Ratmansky and The Prodigal Son by George Balanchine.

Starting from 2002 Matvienko was an invited as soloist at the New National Theatre (Tokio, Japan). In 2003 he came back to the National Opera of Ukraine as a premier.

In 2005 together with his wife Anastasia Matvienko, Denis decided to take part in the 10th Moscow Intentional Ballet and Choreography Competition and won Grand Prix there while Anastasia was awarded with a gold medal. Matvienko became the fourth Grand Prix winner in the history of the competition.

In 2007 Denis performed as a “Guest principal” in Teatro alla Scala (Milan, Italy) and Grand Opera (Paris, France). In 2007 Matvienko was invited as a premier in Mikhailovsky Theatre and in March 2009 — in Mariinskiy Theatre (St Petersburg, Russia).

In 2009, together with Nikolay Tsiskaridze, Marcelo Gomez, Ivan Vasiliev, Guillaume Côté, David Hallberg, Jose Manuel Carreño, Joaquin de Luz and Leonid Sarafanov, Matvienko took part in Kings of the Dance project.

Matvienko has achieved a lot as a classical dancer. Now he strives to master the contemporary choreography. That is why in 2010 Matvienko, together with Leonid Sarafanov decided to create a joint project — a modern ballet. To do this, they invited choreographer Edward Klug and composer Milko Lazar. The cooperation resulted in Quatro ballet. The same year the ballet was nominated for the most prestigious theatre award in Russia “Golden Mask” in four categories and eventually receiving “Golden Mask” in the “Best Actor” group.

In November 2011 Matvienko chaired the National Opera of Ukraine troupe. In one-and-a-half years in the post, he initiated six ballets and noticeably raised the overall level of the ballet troupe. Thanks to his work people started talking about the theatre. The National Opera of Ukraine became the leading theatre on the post-soviet territory, where the legendary Natalia Makarova staged her own edition of Bayaderka ballet. The theatre’s repertoire was enforced with Class-Concert, Radio and Juliet, and Quatro ballets.  Radio and Juliet became the first contemporary ballet in theatre’s history.

Today Matvienko acts as a “Guest principal” in New National Theatre (Tokyo, Japan), The Bolshoi Theatre  (Moscow, Russia), Teatro alla Scala (Milan, Italy), Grand Opera (Paris, France), American Ballet Theatre (New York, USA), Mariinskiy Theatre (St Petersburg, Russia) and others.

Matvienko is a prize-winner at “Dusha Tantsa” (The Soul of the Dance) in “Zvezda” (Star) category and a nominee for The Best Male Dancer by the UK National Dance Award critics cycle, and “Golden Mask”.

He is also an inspirer and organizer (together with Chulpan Khamatova's “Give a Life” fund and the Foundation of the Mikhailovsky Theatre) of the charitable ballet performances in support of children with leukemia. He is also winner of the “Person of the Year 2013” prize in the “Artist of the Year” nomination.

In December 2013, together with Konstantin Meladze, Dwight Rhoden and Alena Matvienko, Matvienko started working on The Great Gatsby ballet.

Денис Матвиенко
Арт-директор проекта THE GREAT GATSBY. Звезда балета, единственный в мире обладатель четырёх Гран-При международных балетных конкурсов
Есть ощущение, что мы сегодня делаем что-то по-настоящему великое

Наталья Макарова о Дениса Матвиенко: «Это Барышников, Нуреев и Годунов в одном лице. Такого явления в балете не было давно».

Денис Матвиенко родился в Днепропетровске (Украина). Танцовщик в третьем поколении. В 10 лет Денис поступил в Киевское государственное хореографическое училище, где проучился до 1997 года.

В 17 лет, будучи еще студентом хореографического училища, Денис Матвиенко дебютировал на сцене Национальной оперы Украины в партии принца Дезире в балете «Спящая красавица». В 1997 году на IV Международном конкурсе артистов балета в Люксембурге Денис получает свое первое Гран-При, что положило начало его стремительной и невероятно успешной карьере. 

Менее чем через год Денис Матвиенко получает Гран-При III Международного конкурса артистов балета им. Рудольфа Нуриева в Будапеште.  Ещё через год — Золотую медаль и Приз Вацлава Нижинского на III Международном конкурсе современной и классической хореографии в Нагое (Япония).

В 2001 Денис получает приглашение от Мариинского театра (Санкт-Петербург, Россия). В качестве ведущего солиста, в течение одного театрального сезона исполняет ведущие партии в балетах «Дон Кихот» и «Драгоценности», а также ведущие партии в премьерах балетов «Золушка» Алексея Ратманского и «Блудный Сын» Джорджа Баланчина.

С 2002 года Денис Матвиенко является приглашённым солистом в New National Theatrе (Токио, Япония) В 2003 году Денис возвращается в Национальную оперу Украины в качестве Премьера. 

В 2005 Денис Матвиенко вместе с женой Анастасией Матвиенко решает принять участие в Десятом Московском Международном конкурсе артистов балета и хореографов и получает на конкурсе Гран-при, а Анастасия — Золотую Медаль. Денис Матвиенко становится четвертым за всю историю существования конкурса, кто был удостоен Гран-при.

С 2007 Денис выступает в качестве «Guest principal» в таких театрах, как Teatro alla Scala (Милан, Италия) и Grand Opera (Париж, Франция) В 2007 году Денис Матвиенко становится Премьером Михайловского театра, а в марте 2009 года — Премьером Мариинского театра (Санкт-Петербург, Россия).

С 2009 года вместе с Николаем Цискаридзе, Марсело Гомесом, Иваном Васильевым, Гийомом Коте, Дэвидом Холбергом, Хосе Мануэлем Карреньо, Хоакином Де Луцем и Леонидом Сарафановым принимает участие в проекте «Короли танца».

Денис Матвиенко добился самых высоких вершин, как классический танцовщик. Теперь он стремиться освоить современную хореографию. Именно поэтому, в 2010 году, Денис Матвиенко вместе с Леонидом Сарафановым решают создать совместный проект – современный балет. Для этого они привлекают хореографа Эдварда Клюга и композитора Милко Лазара. В результате этой работы, получается балет Quatro.  В этом же году, балет номинируется на получение самой престижной театральной премии России «Золотая Маска» сразу в четырёх номинациях и получает «Золотую Маску» в номинации «Лучшая Мужская Роль».

В ноябре 2011 года Денис Матвиенко возглавил балетную труппу Национальной оперы Украины. За полтора года работы на этой должности он инициировал постановку шести балетов и существенно поднял уровень балетной труппы.  Благодаря деятельности Дениса Матвиенко о театре заговорили. Национальная опера Украины стала первым театром на постсоветском пространстве, где легендарная Наталья Макарова поставила свою редакцию балета «Баядерка».  Репертуар театра пополнился балетами: «Класс-Концерт», Radio and Juliet,  Quatro.  Балет Radio and Juliet стал первым в истории театра репертуарным балетом в стиле contemporary.

Сегодня Денис Матвиенко выступает в качестве ”Guest principal” в таких театрах, как New National Theatre (Токио, Япония), Большой Государственный академический театр России (Москва, Россия), Teatro alla Scala (Милан, Италия), Grand Opera (Париж, Франция), Аmerican Ballet Theatre (Нью-Йорк, США), Мариинский театр (Санкт-Петербург, Россия) и других.

Обладатель Приза «Душа Танца» в номинации «Звезда», Номинант премии английских критиков «National Dance Award», Номинант премии «Золотая Маска».

Идейный вдохновитель и организатор (совместно с фондом Чулпан Хаматовой «Подари Жизнь» и Фондом Михайловского театра) благотворительных балетных спектаклей в поддержку детей больных лейкемией. Лауреат премии «Людина Року 2013» в номинации «Деятель искусства». 

В декабре 2013 году вместе с Константином Меладзе,  Дуайтом Роденом и Алёной Матвиенко приступил к работе над балетом THE GREAT GATSBY.